Progress check in Eve Online

This is mostly for my future reference, but someone might find it of use.

I was reading a post at the Ancient Gaming Noob blog. He posted about his skill progress in Eve. He is at 110 million skill points. He posted pretty much every 10 million skill points with his progress. Sounded like a good idea so I can track my own progress as well. So here I am after about 8 months of gameplay with 11.5 million skill points. This is how they break down:

  • Gunnery – 2.23 million
  • Engineering – 2.07 million
  • Drones – 1.47 million
  • Spaceship command – 1.46 million
  • Armor – 1.13 million
  • Shields – .76 million
  • Navigation – .46 million
  • Electronics systems – .43 million
  • Missiles – .31 million
  • Production – .30 million
  • Trade – .19 million
  • Rigging – .18 million
  • Targeting – .18 million
  • Resource processing – .14 million
  • Neural enhancement – .14 million
  • Science – .06 million
  • Social – .03 million
  • Scanning – .01 million
  • And 0 skills in Corporate management, leadership, planet management, and subsystems

This is spread out as:

  • 153 skills total
  • Level 5 – 16 skills
  • Level 4 – 41 skills
  • Level 3 – 58 skills
  • Level 2 – 30 skills
  • Level 1 – 8 skills

My character is Gallente. So the vast majority of gunnery and spaceship command skills are focused in that direction. I am currently focusing on training up covert ops skills so I can have some fun in a Nemesis. I have never used a cloaking device before. I have read about all the short comings that they have. And that lead me to thinking I want nothing to do with cloaking unless it was covert ops cloaking. I have sufficient skill to fly what I have come up with for my first covert ops fit Nemesis. Now I am just leveling up things to help me do more damage with it. Here is the fit I will be trying out:

[Nemesis, Sly death noob]

Micro Auxiliary Power Core IDamage Control II

Limited 1MN Microwarpdrive I

Medium F-S9 Regolith Shield Induction

Warp Disruptor II

Phased Muon Sensor Disruptor I, Targeting Range Dampening Script

Prototype ‘Arbalest’ Torpedo Launcher, Caldari Navy Inferno Torpedo

Prototype ‘Arbalest’ Torpedo Launcher, Caldari Navy Inferno Torpedo

Prototype ‘Arbalest’ Torpedo Launcher, Caldari Navy Inferno Torpedo

Covert Ops Cloaking Device II

[empty high slot]

Small Warhead Calefaction Catalyst I

[empty rig slot]

Pretty menacing looking thing isn't it?

Pretty menacing looking thing isn’t it?

As I said, I have the skills to fly this right now. But once skills are leveled up, damage increases significantly as my missile skills are lacking. Also, once I level up more, I can fit another rig to help with firepower. I could increase firepower a little right now by fitting a different damage control, but it would not be quite as good on defense and add about $10 million to the cost. As an example of the skill affect on this fit, with my current skills, my volley damage is 2653. With all skills at level 5, the single volley damage is 4105. And that isn’t even counting the increase I could get from another rig at that skill set, which would put it at almost 4500.

Again, I am Gallente, but since joining the Brave Newbies, I have had to focus more on doctrine training. That is a major reason my skills are so spread right now. All those missile, shield, and emissions skills have come in the last month or so. As well as many of the spaceship command skills. I had Ore and Gallente ships trained is all until just over a month ago. Now I can fly Caldari, Minmatar, and Amarr ships up to cruiser. It’s been fun trying out a variety of ships like the Brave Newbies favorite, the Talwar, and the silly pew pews from the Rifter.

Mr. Ancient Gaming Noob measures his progress by how many days of training he is from flying a Titan. I have no such aspirations right now. So I will use the Brave Newbie DPS doctrine as a guide, even though that skill plan can change a bit. But right now, I am 180 days from completing that plan. It is my basic focus, but I will deviate from it as time goes by for things such as this Covert Ops ship I am acquiring, and maybe some science skills as I am very interested in research and industry. But right now, with my current skill set, it just isn’t profitable to try. Especially out here in Barleguet where most minerals are just silly expensive.

One response to “Progress check in Eve Online

  1. Pingback: Progress Check in Eve Online v.2 | Vroom & BOOM!

Leave a Reply

