Nikon D3100

So I have been spending years mad about pictures I have been getting out of my point and shoot cameras. And while I wanted to move into the SLR market, I just couldn’t justify the cost. Until now… Today I picked up the all new Nikon D3100 with the 18-55 VR kit lens. Pretty standard lens. But that can be upgraded easily once my skills are up to the task.

Key features:

  • 14.2 Megapixel (not that important I know)
  • 3.0″ LCS screen
  • Auto sensor cleaning
  • 11 Autofocus points with 3D tracking
  • ISO range of 100-3200 (12,800 extended)
  • Records 1080p video at 24 fps with continuous autofocus
  • SDXC card support
  • Live view
  • HDMI out
  • Quiet shutter release mode
  • Guide mode to teach old point and shoot dummies like me how to master the skills of photography

There has been a few things I wanted to write about on here but I was so tired of crap pictures I wanted to wait until I picked this bad boy up. So expect a few updates shortly as I play with my new camera. As soon as I read about this camera a few months ago I knew I had to hold out for it. The official announcement didn’t come until the middle of last month, and it didn’t hit store shelves until this week. And it appears that some Best Buy employee did his best to save it for himself as it was stuffed at the very back of a cabinet behind a stack of point and shoot cameras rather than being in the cabinet where the SLR’s are located. But now it’s mine and now I can spend some time taking some crappy pictures (but ones I am happier with) for you of some things.

BTW, this is the first SLR I have used since photography class in high school almost 2 decades ago. So I’m not expecting magic. But I am expecting photos with more accurate colors and when shown at full size are not fuzzy blobs.

2 responses to “Nikon D3100

Leave a Reply

