Quote of the Day

I don’t normally do the quote of the day thing because… I don’t know why. I just don’t. But I saw this one on another blog this morning right after looking at some pictures of a very nice track car and it seemed very fitting in the car world. It came from a French aviator and author named Antoine de Saint-Exupery.

“Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.”

It of course goes well with Colin Chapman’s philosophy of:

“Simplify, then add lightness.”

This one has also gone by:

“Simplify and add lightness.”

I am not sure which of those is the proper quote, but you get the idea. And while I am on Colin Chapman. I love this quote from him as well:

‘We wouldn’t put a washer underneath the head of a bolt, why…wh..what are you going to do that for? Why do you want to take the washer around the track?'”

Leave a Reply

