As promised. Here are some pictures.

As promised, here are some pictures I took of the propane turbo snowmobile in development.  This is the Arctic Cat that I believe he developed it on before going to the Yamaha.  I honestly have no details on this kit.  If people want details I can call him up and ask.  But I don’t think they even went to production with this version.  As far as I know they only produced the Yamaha version.  Again, I think these are being sold as Simmons Propane turbo kits.  Not sure what happened to the HP^3 concept.

Propane tank for the tubo kit

Propane tank for the tubo kit

Expansion chamber and pressure pipe going into propane mixer. You can also see the propane coverter here.

Expansion chamber and pressure pipe going into propane mixer. You can also see the propane coverter here.

The turbo

The turbo

Seat and tank cover on. Tough to tell it has propane tanks.

Seat and tank cover on. Tough to tell it has propane tanks.

So as you can see.  This one is a propane turbo kit for a 2-stroke engine.  The 4-stroke version of course is basically the same.  You just don’t have the expansion chamber.  And tuning is probably a bit less finicky on the 4-stroke.  Although my dad never complained about tuning on the 2-stroke.  But he wouldn’t.  He would just get it done and make it look easy.  He’s pretty damn good at that kind of thing.

BTW, here is some more shots of him out on the snow.  I am pretty sure I stole these off his computer.  No idea where they were taken or by whom.  Also, these look like they are the Yamaha Apex, not the Arctic Cat.

Dad warming up with propane power.

Dad warming up with propane power.

Could have been a cool shot if the flash was toned down.

Could have been a cool shot if the flash was toned down.

Just post a comment if you want more information or better pictures.  I could probably figure something out.

3 responses to “As promised. Here are some pictures.

  1. I’m really interested in this setup. This is an arctic cat m7. Can you get me some more pics and information please? Maybe Steve’s email? Thanks for any information!!

Leave a Reply

