Biggie’s Lap Battle Time Attack

So on May 4th I was given a great deal on some track time by a friend of mine. Yes, I know that was quite a while ago. What can I say, I’ve been busy and/or lazy.

Well, this event run by Lap Battle It’s a time attack format. The first run group you go out set as fast of a time as you can. Then each run group after that you are sent out in order of how fast you were in the previous run group. This is nice because not only does it lessen the chance of slow guys blocking the fast guys, but it also makes it so you can hopefully learn from the guy in front of you.

In the first run group, the only car I beat was a WRX. Like me, this poor guy was on street tires. Basically me and everyone I beat were on street tires and everyone that beat us was on race tires.

We ran the East course at Miller Motorsports. This was my first time on the East course. It’s definitely the more fun side. It is also the side they will be running the GT Live time attack on next month.

Here’s a shot of me getting ready to go out:
Lining up

I ended up getting beat by over 16 seconds by this guy:
Winner

He’s a great driver that has tons of track time and he destroyed us all. With all whopping 260 HP or so. I have autocrossed with him since about 8 years ago. Although, we both have pretty much given that up since the track was built.

Here’s a couple other shots of me on track:

Well, before the next event I hope to have race tires, wider wheels, my coilovers back on (I was on stock shocks with COBB springs and sways), and high-flow cats with my COBB AP set to stage 2. So about an extra 10 HP. Last time I took my 350Z to the track the brakes were dangerously bad. Before this track day I upgraded the fluid and the brake lines. The brakes seemed to work ok, but not great. I don’t think the Porterfield R4S pads are near aggressive enough for track use. Some day I may be a baller and get the Stoptech 355mm big brake kit. But for now, I am too broke for such extravagant expenditures.

Hopefully I can keep this blog a bit more up to date in the future.

Leave a Reply

